Welcome Wednesday-God’s Direction

Today’s Welcome Wednesday is from one of my dear friend’s, Erin. Her post hit home for me and gave me so much hope and opened my eyes to the season I am in now. I know you will all enjoy!

PicsArt_07-02-10.47.21

I’m one of those people who has almost no sense of direction, just because I have been there before doesn’t mean I can find my way there again.  In other words,  I’m the reason phones have GPS now!  Some times it’s frustrating, but most of the time  it’s fun!  I have an adventurous spirit so it feels like a discovery every time.  Recently I had to go somewhere in the next town over (and the next town over is much bigger with a lot more traffic , which can be stressful for me) so I put the address into my GPS and headed out.  For some reason my GPS took me a route that I had  never taken before – instead of the fast paced highway it took me down an old 2 lane with little to no traffic.  I cruised down the road with the windows down, enjoying the sunny day, in no hurry, just enjoying my drive.  Even though I was enjoying my trip, I noticed that it seemed to be taking forever to get to where I was going.  Then, as I came around one deep curve I realized I was at my destination! The route I had taken spit me out at the side of the building I was going to.  So, nothing had looked familiar until I was staring at my destination.

A few days later I needed to go back to that store again so I put the address into my GPS and headed out.  A couple of landmarks looked familiar, but I still didn’t know my way really well so I relied on the navigation system.  Suddenly, I was at my destination!  I was baffled – how did this drive that seemed to take over an hour the first time (with no traffic) only take 26 minutes?   I was mulling this over a few days later when the Lord told me something that blessed me!  He said “some times you know where you’re going (spiritually) but you don’t know how to get there, so it seems to take forever because you have never been to that ‘place’ before… You could be just around the ‘corner’ from your destination and you don’t realize it because you’re not going the way you thought you would!  It always goes faster when you know the way to where you are going, but when you don’t know the way you rely on someone who does – Me (the Lord) !”

Wow!  Yes Lord! I know where He has called me to go, and I realize that in the past the enemy has stollen a lot of the joy from my journey by making me think I was going the wrong way, I was going too slow, or that I wasn’t moving forward at all.  You see, from my perspective, I was so far from where I wanted to be and where I am called to be spiritually!  But here’s the thing, if I had gotten in my car and looked at myself in the mirror I wouldn’t have gotten anywhere or I would have wrecked.  But looking forward and listening for the instructions got me there. In Psalm 25:4-5 it says, “Make me know Your ways, O LORD; Teach me.” Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; For You I wait all the day.”  And in James 1:5 it says, “But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him. ”  So, I can ask the Lord to teach me as I go, and His written word says that if I ask Him for wisdom, He will give it to me! He desires for us to ask Him and to travel with Him, to keep our eyes on Him. I’m not saying we should never “look at ourselves in the mirror” or examine our hearts, but we should do it when we are prepared to have grace and mercy for ourselves.  Grace and mercy enable us to be humble, and humility lets us rely on Him.  God’s written word says that “His mercies are new every morning”(Lamentations 3:22-23).   If He has mercy for us, then He has mercy through us, for us to give ourselves!

So my prayer is, whether you know where you are going or not, that you would draw on the Lord’s mercy for yourself, that you would not judge yourself but that you would forgive yourself , look forward and listen for the instructions to get you to where He has called YOU to be ! Glory to the Lord!!!

Erin M. Watras is head over heals in love with the Lord and  she is married to her best friend, her husband Tyler. Erin is a Holy Spirit filled massage therapist, artist, worshiper of Jesus Christ, and mother to one sweet dog(Agnes) . Together Erin and Tyler  live their passion to serve the Lord in their marriage, businesses, church/fellowship, and international ministry. Erin has a gift for receiving revelation from the word of the Lord and is enthusiastic about sharing it ! She doesn’t have a blog yet, but if you are local and need a massage please checkout her facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/livingtraditionmassage/?fref=ts

 

Leave a Reply

