What’s In Your Heart?

image

What’s in your heart? Is it a pursuit of Christ? A pursuit full of wisdom and humility? Or is it selfish ambition? Are you living for Him or you? It’s not hard to figure it out if you just stop, look, and listen to your life, thoughts, and actions.
Sadly, for me, too often I’m in selfish mode. I’m seeking praise for the good works I do. I seek to be seen as someone who is smart, a good leader, and who cares. These things aren’t bad except when when I make the focus about me. The focus should be on my Savior.

James 3:15 says, “For jealousy and selfishness are not God’s kind of wisdom. Such things are earthly, unspiritual, and demonic.”

Wow, the selfish ambitions of my heart are demonic. Let that sink in. That’s pretty powerful and leads me to deeper repentance and a desire to rid my self of the selfish ambitions. To trust in God’s plan,  keeping my focus on Him. I’m not saying ambition is bad but if it’s selfish….if it’s just about you then there’s a problem. Stay humble as you get that degree, promotion  and so on. Give God the glory.

Take time to really evaluate your life and see if any jealousy or selfish ambition is lurking in your heart.

Much love,
Alissa Marie

Leave a Reply

