Giving Grace Instead of Fire

image

I love how our Father ties things together. How he gives us what we need, even when what we need isn’t all rosey and bright. Yet I sit here and smile and my heart feels lifted because He has shown me an area I really need refined in and He has shown me how to be refined in it. Isn’t that a part of what makes God so amazing? He doesn’t leave us hanging.

Today I felt lead to read James 3. As I begin to read, I knew I needed it!
“Controlling the Tongue
3 Dear brothers and sisters,[a] not many of you should become teachers in the church, for we who teach will be judged more strictly. 2 Indeed, we all make many mistakes. For if we could control our tongues, we would be perfect and could also control ourselves in every other way.”

A wave of repentance washed over me. Just last night I wasn’t being nice with my words to my husband because his words weren’t nice to me. Therefore I did what most of us do….I extended to him what he had given me. But is that what we are called to do? I just read in His word I’m to control my tongue.
Then came the Book, 5 Habits Of A Woman Who Doesn’t Quit, by Nicki Koziarz. I open it up and read, “Habit Four: She gives others what she needs.”  Did I give my husband what he needed? No. I gave him what I felt he deserved and in it I felt fully justified because he hurt me first.
Yet as children of the most high King, we are called to a higher standard. We are not to dish back out to others what we feel they gave us  no, we are called to give grace, as we have been given grace.
As I continued to read chapter 7 I was moved by the words God gave Nikki, the lesson He has allowed her to share. A lesson I needed to learn from. One of grace, of extended to others what we need in our lives…that is where blessings thrive.
I leave you with the final words  in Chapter 7, because this is my heart’s cry,
“I want to be a woman who thrives, not just survives, through life. Life is tough, but so are you. When you give others what you need, God will give you what you need. Keep sowing good seeds, invest well. There’s a harvest for your life just around the corner. Follow his instructions and you’ll get there.”

Much love,
Alissa Marie

Leave a Reply

