Your Wounds Are An Opening For His Light

As I spent time with the Lord this am, I read in the Jesus Calling devotional. God spoke to me about how he uses our “wounds and weaknesses as openings for others to see his light.” I was asked to dream on the page about how He might do that for me.

As I started to write the first thing that came to my mind was helping the homeless in NYC. I saw a vision of me with a baby on my back, my husband pushing a stroller and we were talking to the homeless. We were reaching out without fear, with understanding, with love and compassion.

I was surprised the vision was not me on a stage leading others, like I would think. It was me with my babies in tow, loving those that others deem unlovable. It was me going into the places others wouldn’t dare to go, knowing He is with me. Knowing if He leads I will follow.

I could discuss my wounds my here but instead I feel lead to say how God can use my wounds and how I have been blessed in those wounds. Jesus lead me to Matthew 5 today and the Beatitudes. How fitting.

The Beatitudes

“God blesses those who are poor and realize their need for him,[a]
    for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.
God blesses those who mourn,
    for they will be comforted.
God blesses those who are humble,
    for they will inherit the whole earth.
God blesses those who hunger and thirst for justice,[b]
    for they will be satisfied.
God blesses those who are merciful,
    for they will be shown mercy.
God blesses those whose hearts are pure,
    for they will see God.
God blesses those who work for peace,
    for they will be called the children of God.
10 God blesses those who are persecuted for doing right,
    for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.

Read those again and let it sink in…when we go through trials we are blessed. He blesses us if we will just open our eyes, and that is how I feel about my trials, my wounds and weaknesses. I see how he used and is still using those things to make me who I am and to create a heart in me that can love others. A heart that makes it like second nature to talk to those on the street and connect with people who others may never even attempt to connect with.

18454.jpeg

This picture here shows it all . My husband said, “You look so happy here. Like this what you are meant to do.” This is Courtney from New Jersey. She was on the street at Harold Square getting money and working to get a place soon. She said they ate with donations and saved the rest. She allowed me to pray God’s blessings over her. She had a joy and I know God can and will do great things for her. I am blessed to know her, to see her joy amidst the struggle.

I ask you to look at you life, the wounds, the trials, the weaknesses and see the blessing in those. I ask you to chose Joy over discouragement and I leave you the the words from Jesus Calling.I can use your weaknesses and wounds as openings through which others see my light. Dream a little here, (in the comments section or on a piece of paper),  about how I might do that. 

Leave a Reply

