From the Rooftops

image

“So I shout out Your name, from the rooftops I proclaim
That I am Yours, I am Yours” (Jesus Culture)

So often we become so wrapped up in ourselves, in the busyness of our daily lives that we forget we are called to be salt and light to the world. We become oblivious to those around us who need love and encouragement in our Christ.

“You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless.You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden.  No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father.” -Matthew 5:13-16

I am grateful that a couple of months ago God began working out love in my husband and I. We wanted to go to NYC but didn’t want the trip to just be about us. We prayed, seeking God and all of a sudden on facebook, was our answer,  Homeless Care Kits. As we began seeking God on these, we knew we weren’t to merely just hand out the kits but we’re to bless others by hearing their story, praying with them…being salt and light.
What we found after this experience was that we were the ones blessed by the people we met. People who will never leave our minds or our hearts.

image

This is Courtney, she really touched my heart. She was trying to get off the street before the first snowfall. She said they took the money they got and ate then saved the rest. We were able to bless her with a kit and subway cards. All week we had meant to get McDonalds cards with money a friend gave us, we kept forgetting. It was our last day there, we grabbed the subway cards and I hoped I would see Courtney again. We saw her and when we gave her the subway cards she said, “I was just telling my boyfriend I really wanted subway.”  Have I mentioned I love how God works?

“I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters,you were doing it to me!” -Matthew 24:40

Leave a Reply

