Stepping Foot Into Our Destiny

I just love, love, love how God works. How if we will just listen and pay attention, he is weaving truths into our lives that He wants us to cling to and learn from.

As I had time with Him early this morning, He spoke to me in Jesus Calling, telling me to not be weighed down with problems, to trust in Him and let Him be my refuge.

How great is the goodness
    you have stored up for those who fear you.
You lavish it on those who come to you for protection,
    blessing them before the watching world. You hide them in the shelter of your presence..” Psalm 31:19-20

Then as I opened Fervent, the example Priscilla Shirer gave sounded just like me! As I read I realized for years I have felt called to write but I have let fear stop me. I never really realized it was fear until the last few days. I always just told myself “why write when I am in a line of work directly helping people?”  I thought I was being selfish. The truth is, I have been and am still afraid of failure. I am good at my job, I am great with children and families. So even though my heart longs for a pen upon a page everyday, even though my heart longs to be a stay at home Momma, to cook and clean and take care of my family and pet babies; I fear it. I fear it because I am good at what I do, it is second nature, truly a gift from God.

I see now, I fear taking the step in faith to write because of the what if’s…what if I fail at it/ what if no one reads my work? What if I don’t know what to write about? What if I can’t make a living at it? What if I don’t make enough money doing it? What if i leave my job and I don’t continue to work with this family I have grown to love?

These questions and fear are not from the Lord.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” -2 Timothy 1:7

So I must not fear and God is calling me to do it and in the midst of the questions, doubt and fear, I clearly know he is calling me to it. I have had confirmations and lots of prayer about it. I hear him telling me to “Write, write, write.” So it is all I can do. It is what I must do. I must have faith.

“Faith is what allows you to step foot in the soil of your destiny (Fervent, pp.113).”

That sounds amazing to me….stepping foot into my destiny. The destiny God has for me…

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” -Jeremiah 29:11

What is he calling you to? Don’t let fear keep you from the destiny He has for you. You have nothing to fear.

“I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” -John 16:33
image

Jesus Calling-Sarah Young

Fervent- Priscilla Shirer

Leave a Reply

