Image

Shake Off The Dust: It’s A New Year

image

Today I woke up and began my day with my sweet Jesus in a new Devotional…Jesus Calling by Sarah Young. This amazing gift was from a  secret sister – a simple activity I participated in on Facebook. I sent out one gift and received 4 gifts back. Such a blessing to my heart, especially this gift! I have been dying to start it but waited until the new year. I have to say, I am again amazed at God and His timing, how he works. Why does this still surprise me?

As I opened it and read, His words spoke so directly to my heart, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm yo, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

What beautiful words to begin my new year with, words spoken directly to me by my Savior. His plans this year are what I am seeking, not my own way, my plans, doing what I think is right. No more. This is a year for His plans, His HOPE, a FUTURE in Him. As I continued to read the devotion, it is written as if Jesus is speaking directly to me and I found myself lost in the words of love to me from my Savior. Words I have needed to hear for a while. Words calling me to “be transformed by the renewing of my mind,” (Romans 12;2), to give myself fully to the adventure He has for me…an adventure of knowing Him more.

I was prompted to list my “old ways” that needed to change, the things I hear Him calling me to change. As I prayed, I felt prompted to read Matthew 10:14 and heard the words as if He were speaking them to me, “Even when people don’t believe the words I have given-trust me. Shake the dust off your feet and go on.”

This is the biggest thing I need to change, my desire to please others at the expense of trusting my Lord. I have spent a lifetime trying to gain my value and worth in doing, in being the good girl and it is not what we are called to. We are called to Love Him, to trust Him, to live for Him, not others. There is  place for good works, please do not hear me wrong, but my focus should be on Him, not the works. I can not earn my way into heaven and I have to stop being my own worst critic.

I felt pretty sleepy as I was finishing and I wanted some prayer time, focused time on my prayer list but I was so tired. I was feeling guilty for this and apologizing to God. Then I looked down and saw what I had just listed for myself…. to have real rest-to put my phone up, to rest and not feel guilty for it.

So at that moment I said, “Thank you Jesus, clearly I need more rest and I will rest and not feel guilty for it.”

I grabbed some cereal and turned on the TV, I began to listen to Joyce Meyer and what do I hear….”Stop being your own worst critic.” Again….God speaking what I needed to hear. I laid down on the couch and let the words Joyce spoke touch my heart. As I drifted off to sleep I could hear God saying, “Shake off the dust….it’s a new year my child.”

Leave a Reply

