May Peace Be Your Blessing

image

This is a simple plaque I bought for about $3.00 at Big Lots. I loved it for Christmas but also for the Blessing upon it for a whole year. As I reflect upon the last year, it has not been filled with peace, there have been arguments, heartache, and trials. With our boys missing, kidnapped by their mother, and my other step-son kept from us for 9 months, his mom breaking the court order….it hasn’t been easy. To go from a home filled with laughter, nerf gun fights, legos, chores, stories, and just the sound 3 boys bring, to the silence, was not easy. It was a growing process, one that allowed us to learn a lot about ourselves and to grow closer to God. We had to make the choice to wallow in pity or to live life. We chose to live and in it to grow with God. I can see such a mighty change in our marriage from this time last year and it is great.

So as this year comes to a close, my prayer for my family is of course restoration, all our kids being here. But I also pray for the blessing of peace to enter our home and hearts fully.  I have been praying this verse over myself, “Give me a new heart oh Lord, a new spirit. Take out my stony, stubborn heart and give me a heart of flesh-a heart that is tender and responsive.” (Ezekiel 37:26 NLT)

I feel peace is our choice and if my heart is hardened or stubborn it can not have peace. The events of the last year did a number on my heart and I am finally feeling the peace of God, that “peace that surpasses all understanding” fully filling me.  (Philippians 4:7) I can not wait to see what this new year brings.

I pray that as this new year begins you will have a new heart and that peace will be your blessing the whole year through!

 

*Here is the photo  and link of our boys,  please feel free to share and keep an eye out. It is believed they are now in Mexico and possibly in the surrounding states.
image

 

 

http://www.missingkids.com/poster/NCMC/1240794/1/screen

 

Leave a Reply

