Image

King of the World

image

“The Kingdom of Heaven is like a treasure a man discovered hidden in a field. In his excitement, he hid it again and sold everything he owned to get enough money to buy the field.” -Matthew 13:44

When I woke up this morning I had a song by Natalie Grant ringing in my ears and heart,

“I try to take life back, right out of the hands of the king of the world.”

As I listened to the song, I felt God calling me to read Matthew 13. As I read, I was drawn to Matthew 13:44. I was like, “Okay, Lord, what are you trying to tell me?” Then I read the commentary in the NLT Life Application Bible: ” The Kingdom of Heaven is more valuable than anything else we can have, and a person must be willing to give up everything to obtain it.”

Everything.

As I read, Natalie Grant’s song The King of the World continued to play…

“I try to take life back, right out of the hands of the king of the world.”

These words came to life in me as I listened and took in all He was teaching me….

The music plays and I return to a place I’ve not been in so long.                       It’s almost a ghost to me. Words, Music, and the life He gives me. I write the words He brings to life.   Yet, too often I forget and I try to take it all into my own hands.  “I try to take life back, right out of the hands of the King of the world.”   And for that, Oh Lord, I am sorry.  I forget and I try to take control. And in this I become lost all over again. I can’t see the light clearly. I forget the joy of the pen upon a page. I want you to have it all, all of me. I want to “take your yoke upon me.” As I start this new journey into living the vision you gave, I want to let you be the potter, molding me. Yes, I need to bend and move, but only with your hands guiding me. Help me to keep my life under your direction, my King. Help me Oh God to give up all for you. Everything.  Thank you Oh Father, that in prayer, I can grow daily. Thank you my past is just that, the past and you have carried me through.  I no longer have to look back. I can look ahead…  “no longer do I have to call upon former things, or ponder the past.” For you are doing something new and it is springing forth in me.

I love how God weaves things together, the last 6 lines came from Chapter 5 in Fervent by Priscilla Shirer. He gave me the song as I woke, then the verse as I prayed, and rounded out what he was teaching me in the book, Fervent. My God is amazing and beautiful. I am grateful I am His and he is mine. My king.

King of the World -Natalie Grant, you tube video

Fervent-Priscilla Shirer

Bible verses from NLT Life application and Fervent. Matthew 13:44, Matthew 11:29, Isaiah 64:8, Isaiah 43:16,18-19.

Leave a Reply

