Perspective

As I read the words in Chapter 8 of Unglued, I became convicted and excited. What a range of emotions. Lol first I felt excited because the author Lysa was discussing working and living at a homeless shelter in LA. called The Dream Center. I feel such a call to the homeless, the broken, those in the streets that this got me excited! She discussed working on Skid Row and the sad things they saw, how one women wanted help to only go back to the deplorable conditions on Skid Row. I felt her anger over the pull the comfortable had to people so they stayed.
Then I felt her conviction about the silly things that usually make her angry. Oh how I do this! I let my emotions,erupt like a volcano, spewing my words out like hot lava. Sometimes this volcano just keeps erupting and erupting. Over the sillest things; the house is messy, my husband left his dirty clothes by the bed.. again, bills are due and we are short on funds, and the list goes on. I can attempt to justify my reactions and I do this by saying my husband should fo his part, he should help more. This may be true, however…..I have a CHOICE to erupt like a volcano spewing  things that don’t show I’m a child of Christ or I can be find gratefulness in what I do have.
Perspective. Godly perspective. Eye opening perspective. People don’t have homes, they are hungry, cold, dirty, alone, selling their bodies, shooting up to numb themselves and I’m upset over what?
Perspective. I have a house, a big house….3 bedrooms and one huge basement room which is my boys huge bedroom, I have 3 showers all boasting hot water, I have food in my fridge, I have 4 dogs and 2 cats I feed, 2 cars and I erupt over dirty clothes on the floor? Two of my stepsons were kidnapped by their mother and taken to Mexico, the other stepson is being kept from us by his mother, we have spent over $10,000 in 3 years on lawyer fees but I’ve forgiven these women and pray for them. Yet I spew hot lava at my husband…PERSPECTIVE.

As I read the end of the chapter these words spoke to me.

image

“The place you go doesn’t matter as much as the need you choose to see and meet. When we place ourselves in situations where things seem impossible, we see the hand of God in action. When we can attribute good only to God’s power, we see Him in a new light and we believe in His power afresh.” (Pp. 130)

I felt hope, I felt joy and I know what my husband and I are doing in NYC is what we need. Daily we are placed in a position to have to trust God for the impossible  because of his 3 boys missing but I think we need something more. We need to be in that position of being the giver, of praying, of serving a meal, listening to a story, giving them a few items to survive with and letting  God move.
As I prayed I felt I needed His word to show me this same truth and I searched for scripture….this first I clicked on was 2 Thessalonians 1:11

“So we keep on praying for you, asking our God to enable you to live a life worthy of his call. May he give you the power to accomplish all the good things your faith prompts you to do.”

Wow, what more confirmation do I need? None.
So today I pray 2 Thessalonians 1:11 over all of you. And I say, God help each if us to find perspective in our lives…the perspective of you!
Amen!

Unglued by Lysa Terkeurst
http://biblehub.com/2_thessalonians/1-11.htm

Leave a Reply

