image

Genesis 34

This story gives us a clear picture of how raw emotions—when not brought under the authority of God—can be powerfully destructive. Without Jesus and the power of the Holy Spirit we too are susceptible to out-of-control emotions
that can lead to devastating consequences.

To honor God, our thoughts, emotions and actions must line up with His Word. Not just on Sunday mornings or when it’s convenient, but every single day. We need to set our heart and mind to the tune of God’s will to avoid traps the enemy sets for us.

My Moment: When was the last time your emotions got the best of you? Did you repent and ask for forgiveness? Or did you feel justified in your emotions and reactions?

God blows my mind. I was just praying about this very thing. About wanting to see things in His perspective, to not get emotional so easy and was asking how to deal when people have done you wrong. I open the first 5 app and boom, the answer to my prayers I just prayed!!  I can almost daily let my emotions get the best of me. I’ve found a big trigger is when I’m tired or feeling overwhelmed. I then take it out on my husband. He really may have forgotten to take the trash out or something like that but I blow it all out if proportion. I harp on everything he hasn’t done and I don’t know when to quit. Luckily he accrues my apology but I want to stop being  like this. I want to catch it as it starts and pray and repeat scripture instead.  The same when I’m wronged, I have an ability to take up for myself. I had to learn to bc I was so short to not let others run all over me. However sometimes I get in the fighting/arguing spirit instead of letting God take it. Again I want to let God have it and deal with those who have sinned.

Prayer: Lord, sometimes my emotions get the best of me and I can do things that are completely out of character and against Your will. Guard my thoughts and help me live in a way that is pleasing to You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,”  says the Lord.-Romans 12:19

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

