A Heart Like Mary’s

image

John 12:3 (NIV)“Then Mary took about a pint of pure nard, an expensive perfume; she poured it on Jesus’ feet and wiped his feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume.”

“Mary of Bethany is a beautiful role model for every believer. We can learn so much from her memorable interactions with Jesus. In this verse, we catch a glimpse of Mary’s loving adoration and servant’s heart as she anoints Jesus’ feet with perfume during a dinner party. And this was no ordinary bottle of body splash. A pint of imported pure nard would have cost an entire year’s wages. But to Mary it was worth it. Jesus was worth the costly sacrifice, and as she wiped His feet with her hair the sweet aroma filled the entire house.

Mary gave her very best to Jesus. She risked being ridiculed and worshipped Him unapologetically. Her humility and love for her Savior were undeniable. Mary was unwilling to compromise or hide her devotion. Jesus was everything to her.” – Leah DiPascal

My Moment: What is one thing that inspires you about Mary?
I am inspired by by her lack of caring of what others thought of her. She didn’t care if others thought she was crazy. She didn’t care if she was ridiculed. She simply wanted Jesus. That to me is beautiful. That’s what I strive for.
I worry so much about doing the right thing, that I often miss out out on my Jesus. I miss out on blessings he wants to give me because I’m too fearful to step forward and take them. I also tend to be more if a Martha, constantly working, trying to prepare and serve others…when I really need to be sitting at my saviors feet, serving him, not man. That doesn’t mean I don’t give, do for, or help others. Instead it means I do it all with the right intention, not making it about me, but about them.
I want to sit at Jesus’ feet, I want to worship him and serve him with all that I am. That is my prayer today, to become more like Mary in my worship and love of my Savior.

Leave a Reply

