The Lord is My Light & Strength

image

I sit here, rocking in my chair sipping coffee snd admiring God’s creation. I can’t help but feel grateful. To feel peace. To feel love. Even in my trials I can feel these things because I have my Lord. He turns those negative and dark things into something bearable and I am grateful that I have Him. I wonder where would I be if I hadn’t accepted him at the young age of 7 years old? Where would I be if I hadn’t answered that beautiful call upon my life?
I know that without Him I wouldn’t have made it thru the dysfunction of my childhood; to now remember more good than bad. I wouldn’t have made it through the stress of being the oldest teen and having to care for and be like a parent to the 4 year old sibling while my parents were with the 5 year old sibling who had brain tumors; who is now a 21 year old man, doing great. Without Him I wouldn’t have made it through the divorce that left me without my husband and my best friend, since they decided to be together; to now be married to my daycare sweetheart, who loves me unconditionally.
And now He is who carries me through the pain of 2 if our boys being k8dnapped by their drug abusing, non custodial mither, taken to Mexico for 9 months now and also not seeing their older brother in 5 months because his mother refuses to follow the court order, with Him, my husband and I would be basket cases.
He has carried me though depression, suicidal thoughts, confusion, anger, & heart break. Because of the Spirit calling out I have been able to see that li ght in the darkness and I’ve never allowed the darkness to fully consume me. One verse that has always carried me through is,
Psalm 27:1 The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

If you are hurting today, if you feel lost, broken, confused, scared, angry….remember Psalm 27:1. Cry out to Him, He will answer.

Leave a Reply

