Lessons From The Olive Tree

“No one wants to have their heart crushed. But being wounded in deep places happens. Sometimes it just seems to be a part of the rhythm of life. And when these hard times come, we feel it all so very deeply.

Second Corinthians 4:8, says we are “pressed but not crushed.” And verses 8 and 9 in the King James Version read: “We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed.”

Crushing isn’t the olive’s end. Crushing is the way of preservation for the olive. It’s also the way to get what’s most valuable, the oil, out of the olive. Keeping this perspective is how we can be troubled on every side, yet not distressed … pressed to the point of being crushed, but not broken.

And here’s the thing we must remember when we think back to the olive tree: when the sorrowful winds of the east blow, we mustn’t forget they are necessary. When we’re being processed, don’t forget it’s for the sake of ridding us of bitterness. And when we’re being crushed, don’t forget it’s for the sake of our preservation.

We forget all these things so easily. We wrestle and cry and honestly want to resist every bit of this. Oh, how we forget. But maybe God knew we all would forget. So, He created the olive tree.” – Lysa Terkeurst

My Moment: How have you been pressed in the past? Can you see the value from the pressing?

Our biggest trial has been my husband’s children being kidnapped and taken to Mexico by their non custodial mother, it’s surreal seeing their faces on missing children posters, the kind you in Walmart.  Also his other son is being kept from us and all we can do is pray and play the waiting game with court. But after reading this all I can say is,
Thank you Lord for this truth! Thank you for showing me that through all the hard times, the times I’m being pressed, that it’s only to help me endure, to grow me closer to you! It’s like a new revelation to me, even though I’ve read the scriptures before. And I can’t help but think, “what mighty things God must have planned for me, my husband, and my family if satan keeps fighting us so hard.” So today I’m claiming victory!! God will provide for our finances, He will grow our business, He will bring all 3 of our boys back home to us!!!! In the meantime, I will praise Him and keep allowing Him to  cure & preserve me!! Thank you Jesus!

Jame’s 1:2-3 (NIV) Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds,  because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.

Leave a Reply

