Jesus’ Prayer For You

image

Jesus’ Prayer for You -Lysa TerKeurst

John 17:23 (NIV) “ …That they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.”

“I treasure reading about the last moments of Jesus life with His friends in the Upper Room. But at the same time, my heart aches. He knew all that was about to happen to Him. Within hours of this last time together He knew: –One of them would betray Him. –The others would not stand with Him. –The brutality He would soon endure alone.

And yet, somehow He was focused enough to stay very present in this moment instead of living in dread of the horrific moments to come.

The fact that He thought of and prayed for us in these final moments astounds me. “ … that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.” (John 17:23)

Of all the many things He could have prayed for us, it was unity and love. That’s what He prayed. But is this what we live?

Do I see unity and love in the way Christians speak about one another online?

Do I see unity and love in the way I handle frustrations with others?

Do I see unity and love in the way I process others getting the very things I have begged God for?

Do I see unity and love between pastors and churches and denominations?

Sometimes I do. But heartbreakingly, sometimes I don’t.

If I don’t see what should be the defining marks for us Christians, what must the onlooking world think?

We honor Him when we read His prayer. But I believe we honor Him most when we live His prayer.”

My Moment: What are three ways you can seek to promote God-honoring unity instead of division today?

1. handling frustration better when I feel I’m doing more & working harder.
2.encouraging coworkers, with simple notes or comments
3. Loving my husband, respecting him. Not nagging. Thanking Him for all he has done.

*and pray for the people in my life, pray for relationships, pray for myself to become more like Jesus everyday.

Leave a Reply

