Get Off Your Mat

image

“Jesus came to him and asked: “Do you want to get well?” (John 5:6) The man responded: “I have no one to help me into the pool when the water is stirred.” (John 5:7a) Jesus, ignoring his excuse, instructed him: “Get up! Pick up your mat and walk.” (John 5:8)

‘Jesus’ question redirected the man’s focus, and mine, from the healing pool to the One who heals. Like the invalid, we often sit in places of pain and sorrow, waiting for something to happen. For God to move or act on our behalf. But sometimes, we must move. We must lock our eyes on Jesus, rally our courage, get up, and take that first step off our mat.’

My Moment: What is keeping you on a mat? What first step will you take today to get off your mat?”

It’s so easy to stay in bed a few mins longer bc I’m tired and achy from the fibromyalgia. In reality I’m not getting much more rest and I’m missing out in that precious time with my Lord. I’m missing out on prayer,  His word, & I’m missing out on Him. That only keeps me on my “mat” in other areas of my life; I keep that small wall built around my heart bc I’m afraid of being hurt in my marriage (I went through a divorce before ), I’m afraid I’ve made a bad decision in starting my own business, I’m afraid if I have a baby I won’t have the energy to give her the time she deserves, I’m afraid our boys won’t be home soon, I worry over finances and debt created from custody issues, and the list goes on and on. Worry takes over & satan has a grip all because I won’t get off my mat/bed early bc I’m tired, when the one who gives me rest, energy and  peace is waiting on me. He’s calling to me to just trust Him, to get up and be healed.

Leave a Reply

