His yoke…..

“Then Jesus said. “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give your rest. Take my yolk upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” (NLT) Matthew 12:28-30

Image

I read a Bible study this am and this is the first verse I wanted to look up that was listed. As I read tears fell down my face. I was once awoken several nights by this verse. I was young, only 18 and I did not know what it meant. I told God, “I have your yoke.” I was really on fire for God, working hard for him and growing. Then I was hit by my church turning its back on me. Claiming I said something to the youth group I lead, that I did not say. He had been warning me, preparing me for what was coming. I was too young and new in the growing faith to understand what to do. I overtime, turned from God. I lost him because of what some “Christian” people did to me. I made horrible choices and walked away from him. It has been a cycle. Over and over and over for me. Trusting him then getting hurt and turning my back. Now here I am with a jury trial coming on Monday, trying to trust God. Trying to give him all my nerves and fears. Praying he will let the truth come out, the lies, to let them see how I did not stalk my step-son at the school I work at! Praying for once, I can be freed from the lies told about me.

Then I read the verse….to take his yoke. To trust, to let him carry my burdens. So I sit here and I cry. Tears of relief and happiness. Tears of love for a God that takes my burdens, my missteps and pain over and over again. Monday is in His hands and I will give it to Him, stop carrying the burden. Let him have it and take his yoke. His love. His peace.

Image

I ask for prayers through this. I want to stay close to God, to trust him and to know whatever happens, it is in His will and plan. I want the truth to be exposed, the lies that have been told out of control, anger and jealousy. I want the truth and God to win out above and amongst all the lies and deceit.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

